El Cariso Hot Shots 1966

Home | Summary of Fires - 1966 | Life at the El Cariso Hot Shot Camp | Loop Fire, A Personal Account | Photo Gallery 1966 | Photo Gallery 2 | 10 Standard Orders | Decker Fire 1959 | Doug Campbell | Links related to El Cariso and Fire Fighting | Events - 2010 | Events - October 31 - November 1, 2016 | New Monument Dedication - November 3, 2012 | Where Are They? | In Memory | Guestbook | About Me | Contact Me

New Monument Dedication - November 3, 2012

The dedication of the new El Cariso Hotshot "Loop Fire" Memorial was held Saturday, November 3, 2012 at 1:00 pm  at the El Cariso Regional Park, 13100 Hubbard Street, Sylmar, California, 91342.  The invitation is shown below.

Invitation to Re-Dedication Memorial


Ed, Jerry, Rich, Rod, Jim


The New El Cariso Hotshots Loop Fire Monument

Chief John Hawkins, (pictured below) California Fire Riverside Unit and Riverside County Fire Chief, presented the Welcome, Honorable Mentions, and Closing Remarks for the Loop Fire Memorial Ceremony.


Chief John Hawkins


Unveiling the New Loop Fire Memorial


The United States Forest Service Honor Guard Presenting The Colors


Current El Cariso Hot Shots & 1965-1966 Crew Members


Current El Cariso Hot Shots & 1965-1966 Crew Members


Current El Cariso Hot Shots & 1965-1966 Crew Members


Edward P. Cosgrove, Gordon King, Rich Leak






Jim Brown, Rod Seewald, Ed Cosgrove, Rich Leak & Jerry Smith


Thanks to all who donated their time and money for the new Loop Fire Memorial.
The Terry Ferrell fund (http://terryfund.org) donated money for the new El Carsio Hotshot monument. 
Donations were also provided by
The San Marcos Professional Fire Fighters Association. Morley Builders, Inc. donated all materials, labor and new foundation for the new monument. 

A dedication of this new El Cariso Hotshots "Loop Fire" memorial was held Saturday, November 3, 2012, at El Cariso Regional Park, 13100Hubbard Street, Sylmar, California 91342. Phone: 818-367-7050.

Extra Event - On Friday, November 2, 2012, the day before the ceremony and dedication of the new monument at El Cariso Regional Park, friends, family, former El Cariso and other Hotshots and fire fighters, met at 10:00 am at the California Wildland Firefighters Memorial on the Ortega Highway, South Main Divide, west of Lake Elsinore, California and just up the hill from the old El Cariso Hotshot Camp.
Everyone was able to see the engraved bricks that were purchased to honor all our fallen Hot Shots and firefighters. A visit was made to the old El Cariso Hot Shot Camp location (which no longer exists) and to the current El Cariso Hotshot camp. In a brief ceremony at the camp, Rich Leak presented an appreciation plaque for being the "Keepers" of our original 1996 Loop Fire Memorial.
David S. Westley also donated his 1966 El Cariso Hot Shots Fire Stick to the camp. See also under main Menu, "In Memory", the article "1996 El Cariso Hot Shots Memorial Moved to El Cariso Hot Shot Camp".
1965-1966 El Cariso Hot Shots, friends and family, were able to visit with the current El Cariso Hot Shots at their Headquarters Office, in an informal discussion of our experiences during our time with the El Cariso Hot Shots, in 1965 and 1966, some 46 to 47 years ago! This was followed by a great lunch and continued enjoyable visit with everyone.


1965 -1966 El Cariso Hot Shots, November 2, 2012






Old News
El Cariso Hotshot Reunion
On Friday, October 22, 2010, several former El Cariso Hotshots (1965 &/or 1966) met at the California Wildland Fire Fighters Memorial on Ortega Highway west of Lake Elsinore, California.

We also visited the location of the old El Cariso Hotshot camp, which no longer exists, and later, visited the El Cariso Hotshots Regional Center. Thanks to Jay Bertek, Superintendent, we were honored to meet the current El Cariso Hotshots at the California Wildland Fire Fighters Memorial, as seen in the second photo.  (Photos courtesy of Jerry Smith)

El Cariso Hot Shots (1965 &/or 1966)


Westley, Galyean, Leak, Cosgrove, Smith, Terrien, Moore, Brown


El Cariso Hot Shots - 2010 & 1965/66